h1

My Issues

March 27, 2008

Being a democrat in Davis County (or most anywhere in Utah) is not always easy, but this is a good year to be a Utah Democrat. I am honored to represent the Democratic Party this election.  I am very excited to take part in the movement for change in our state government.  I would like to tell you a few reasons on why I am running for office:

1.  I am running for office because I feel that the legislature has shown a lack of ethics (to put it mildly) and lost touch with the citizens of  our state.   A couple of exhibits:

a.     Vouchers.  Why did it take a state referendum to make the legislature listen to the will of the people?  My in-laws were actually told by their representative, “If you knew what I knew, you would vote the way that I voted.”  That kind of arrogance doesn’t belong in our state legislature.  It’s clearly time for a change.

b.     As I mentioned in my previous post, SB54 – the current legislation voted into law that reduced the amount of time for gathering signatures for citizens initiatives and local referendums from June 1 to April 15.  What is the reasoning behind this? (other than the grabbing for more power by an already unbalanced legislature). 

Where are the checks and balances?  Our Legislature is trying to control the judicial and executive branch of government as well.  We have to get rid of the supermajority and have a legislature that works for the citizens not against them.  

2.  Public Education.  I feel that is the right for every child to have a great education, and the best way to ensure that right is to strengthen our public education system.   Senate Bill 2, the Education Omnibus, is nothing but dirty politics. We shouldn’t have to take the bad bills that couldn’t stand on their own just to get teacher raises, and proper funding for our public schools.

3.  Health Care. I believe that it is extremely important for everyone to have access to decent health care. We need health care reform yesterday. Individuals should not have to wait for a medical emergency to see a doctor. Emergency room care costs all of us, and plugs up resources that should be used for actual emergencies. Parents should not have to worry about how to pay for a doctors visit when their child is sick or injured. No one should have to weigh whether their injury is severe enough to warrant the costs of seeing a doctor. Health care is not a privilege that should be reserved for the few, but a right for all Utahns.

As always, please let me know about issues that are important to you.  We need real representation in our governement.  I’ll do my part, and ask all citizens to do their part too- be involved.  Let your current legislators know that you aren’t happy with them by voting for change in November.

Kyle 

One comment

  1. Count on us for a contribution. We need balance in this unbalanced legislature. Ethics reforms have failed in every session in every year. Travel junkets, Jazz tickets, golf outings, the list goes on and on…



Leave a comment